Logic Users Group Logic EXS24 Instruments & Samples, Combo Remapper - Keywswitch Articulations via score symbols
Go Back   Logic Users Group > Apple Logic Discussions > Logic Pro X
    
   

Logic Pro X Discussions relating to Apple Logic Pro X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22nd October 2013, 09:29 PM   #1
Colin Shapiro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 576
Colin Shapiro is on a distinguished road
Default Logic X and Mavericks

Well, Apple just announced that Mavericks (OS 10.9) is available today...for free!

Which brave users will be first to test out Logic X?
Colin Shapiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2013, 10:36 PM   #2
gdoubleyou
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 296
gdoubleyou is on a distinguished road
Default

Not that brave, YET!

__________________
15 inch Quad i7 Macbook Pro,16GB RAM, OSX 10.8.5, Apollo Duo, Logic 9.1.8, LPX.0.6
gdoubleyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2013, 12:01 AM   #3
Colin Shapiro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 576
Colin Shapiro is on a distinguished road
Default

It's still VERY early days…

I've read that Mavericks seems to cause some system-wide slowdowns which is not good news. I never upgrade until a .1 update at the very least.
Colin Shapiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2013, 06:08 AM   #4
LSchefman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 111
LSchefman is on a distinguished road
Default

I installed it on my machine. No issues so far with Logic Pro X, latest version.

And I'm crazy enough to be working on a project with it. I've had no slowdowns, in fact, some plugins are working more efficiently.
LSchefman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2013, 10:30 AM   #5
asimmd
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lancashire - UK
Posts: 68
asimmd is on a distinguished road
Default

Think i will wait a day or two,and see if there are any problems.
asimmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2013, 12:25 PM   #6
Atlas
Senior Member
 
Atlas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 475
Atlas is on a distinguished road
Default

In the advertisement they boast about new core technologies that deliver breakthrough power efficiency and responsiveness! Could that be the end of the CPU overloads problem and poor resource management that plagued Logic so far?
If so, that would make it even harder not to jump in already!
__________________
LogicX (10.0.7 & 9.1.8),MainStage3.0.2 (& 2.2.2)
MBPro 17",Core2Duo,8G,OSX10.9.4
ULN8,MOTU MIDI TP-AV,C4,McControl,KorgNano,NovationSLMkII
AAS,NI,Melodyne,MIDIQuest,etc
PC,iPad3(V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL),Several vintage gear
Atlas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2013, 07:23 PM   #7
EastWest Lurker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
EastWest Lurker is on a distinguished road
Default

Logic Pro X seems more CPU efficient under Mavericks!

At first, I thought it was my imagination but it is running like butter. I wonder if the new "Compressed Memory" feature is doing this or if there has been improvement in hyper threading?

On my website in the Listen page, there is a piece called "Diabolique". It is using a bunch of Hollywood stuff on my slave PC in VE Pro and Kontakt stuff in VE Pro on my Ma as well as more Play and EXS24 stuff in Logic Pro X itself..

In the past when I opened it, it would take a couple of play thoughs to settle in and even then I would occasionally at the biggest section get a system overload message. Not a lot, but occasionally. Now, first play through and subsequent replays, perfect!

As you can probably tell, I am pretty excited.
EastWest Lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2013, 09:48 PM   #8
CSeye
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 868
CSeye is on a distinguished road
Default

Downloading now.
Completed a fresh CCC back up of an essentially clean install of ML and LPX on new drives.
__________________
i7 Mac Mini with dual internal SSD, i5MBP, OSX10.9.5, Mac Pro1,1 running OSX10.9.5, Logic 10.0.7, Apollo Quad, MIDI Guitars

Last edited by CSeye; 23rd October 2013 at 10:00 PM.
CSeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2013, 10:56 AM   #9
ocarus
Junior Member
 
ocarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: "Rotten" Groton CT
Posts: 8
ocarus is on a distinguished road
Default

Installed, only had problems loading some components. Had to reinstall Analog Lab but thats an Arturia thing. Haven't recorded yet but everything loads.
ocarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2013, 02:31 PM   #10
Multispace
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Breda, The Netherlands
Posts: 80
Multispace is on a distinguished road
Default

Soon I will receive my new Macbook Pro that comes pre-installed with Mavericks, so good to hear that Logic X is running smoothly there.

In my studio I didn't upgrade yet to Mavericks as I also run Logic 9 there still for these few 32-bit plug-ins (Sylenth1…). Anyone tried Logic Pro 9 with Mavericks?
__________________
Mac Pro 8 x 2.26 GHz, Logic Pro 9.1.8 + X, Macbook Pro dual 2.4 GHz, RME Fireface 800, UAD-2

Last edited by Multispace; 24th October 2013 at 03:01 PM.
Multispace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:17 AM.

    
Copyright ©2009, Logic Users Group.