Logic Users Group Logic EXS24 Instruments & Samples, Combo Remapper - Keywswitch Articulations via score symbols
Go Back   Logic Users Group > Apple Logic Discussions > Logic 9
    
   

Logic 9 Ask about general use of Logic Pro and Express 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th October 2009, 11:33 AM   #1
tedthetrumpet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 13
tedthetrumpet is on a distinguished road
Default Importing Logic 9 files into 8?

According to the manual for Logic 9;

'Important: Projects saved in Logic Pro 9 are not backward-compatible with earlier Logic Pro versions.'

Is there a solution for opening version 9 files in 8? Does version 9 have something like a 'save in version 8 format' option?
tedthetrumpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2009, 06:24 AM   #2
Petrosil
Member
 
Petrosil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 64
Petrosil is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tedthetrumpet View Post
Is there a solution for opening version 9 files in 8? Does version 9 have something like a 'save in version 8 format' option?
You can open Logic 9 projects in Logic 8 without conversion. Logic 8 will display a warning the project was created in a newer version.
However be aware you will not be able to use any of the new Logic 9 features (e.g. Flex and new plug-ins) in Logic 8, and therefore may get unexpected results when opening a Logic 9 project in Logic 8.

Best...

Manfred
Petrosil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2009, 06:12 PM   #3
jlproductions
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 70
jlproductions is on a distinguished road
Default

If you aren't using any new features - it seems to run fine to go from 9 to 8.
__________________
Jamie
Jamielawrenceproductions.com
Snow,Logic 9.1, PT 8.1, UAD2 quad, Mac 2.66 octo Neth, 12 gigs ram, OO3 Interface
jlproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2009, 01:33 AM   #4
CSeye
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 868
CSeye is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for pointing out that L9 projects can be opened in L8.

I'll occasionally needed to share files with someone using L8 on an older Mac. Since upgrading to L9, it looked like my options would be SMF and OMF.

A test run to occur soon.

Cheers.
__________________
i7 Mac Mini with dual internal SSD, i5MBP, OSX10.9.5, Mac Pro1,1 running OSX10.9.5, Logic 10.0.7, Apollo Quad, MIDI Guitars
CSeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2009, 05:18 AM   #5
tedthetrumpet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 13
tedthetrumpet is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for replies so far. One of my students has Logic 9, the institution I teach at still has 8. He told my colleague the other day that he couldn't get it to work; I'll should see him today and be able to check it out for myself.
tedthetrumpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2009, 01:46 AM   #6
CSeye
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 868
CSeye is on a distinguished road
Default

Based on my experience today, a Logic 9 file can be opened in Logic 8.

The project was an all MIDI tune, started on my Mac Pro using only Logic software instruments. A warning message about the project being created in a later version of Logic popped up in Logic 8 when opening the file.

But it opened intact (on a dp G4 running OSX 104.9) with all assigned instruments/presets.
__________________
i7 Mac Mini with dual internal SSD, i5MBP, OSX10.9.5, Mac Pro1,1 running OSX10.9.5, Logic 10.0.7, Apollo Quad, MIDI Guitars
CSeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:16 AM.

    
Copyright ©2009, Logic Users Group.