1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logic 7 & earlier 4.5 Gold MIDI Difficulties

Discussion in 'Logic 7 and older Versions' started by Tim Coulson, Sep 7, 2011.

1. Tim Coulson

Tim Coulson New Member

Hi Guys

I'm totally new to using midi. I'm reaching out to you guys because I hope you can tell me what I'm doing wrong. I can't get audio sounds from the midi notes / events - I'll try to explain.

I have old Logic Gold 4.5. I have always used it only with a desktop device called Omni I/O Delta 44 - something like that. Anyway I have always used it for straight audio recording, direct guitar inputs and mics, that's it. It still works fine for that.

So after having it for 10 years now I'm interested in midi. I have a feeling my problem has to do with drivers or maybe even windows settings. Which I know very little about.

I selected the grand piano track, then used the pencil tool to create bars, then opened the score sheet and created a series of notes. When I play it, the little level meter shows it doing something in the Arrange window. But no sound. I can also export as midi file, then it plays just fine with Windows Media Player. But I need to be able to hear it in Logic.

Also similarly, the demo songs load up and the same thing happens.

If anyone can help clue me in it would be greatly appreciated.

3. georgelegeriii

georgelegeriii Senior member

Hi tim,

What you have done is made or created midi data inly. In order for that data to "make sound" you require a tone generator or virtual instrument to do this.

I can't remember if and what VI's came with Logic Gold for the PC. unfortunately, back then most if not all the now included plug-ins were added at an extra cost and required CD's for authorization.