Combo Remapper - use score text and symbols to switch articulations
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logic 9 Ad Limiting without distortion...

Discussion in 'Logic 9' started by Sparkle22, Jan 20, 2015.

1. Sparkle22

Sparkle22 New Member

I am ashamed (almost) to say how much experience I have had using Logic. Pretty much since it was the twinkle in some German fellow's eye at Emagic and even before then...

I am a writer and session player - and again, it almost shames me to say at what level (big TV campaigns, BBC, ITV1, ads, plays, theatre etc....)

The truth is, my production team (my brother and other writing partner) were previously the producers and post prod. on all our studio's work, however they have recently flown to other ends of the TV spectrum.
    (I have to say, to safer and more lucrative parts other than music!).

It now falls to me to mix and 'master' my own work. Something which I was never an expert of and dreaded...

So - - I have seen this on many other forums and sites with no conclusive answer.

I am trying to do the impossible - to get a dance (style) track as punchy/loud/gutsy as possible without clipping. Think Lady Gaga.

I have set an 'Ad Limiter' as the last plug on the master output with the output set to -0.1. (After an EQ and Multipressor)
    However, the resultant audio file is still clipping. In fact, the visual wave file shows a brick wall style of limiting but there peaks at a certain points (where my crazy samples are with a sub-punchy bass and a boingy spring sample comes in...) They don't sound that loud or subby to my ears.

The level on the master fader reads (over) +0.3 or more but the limiter tells me that my track is being kept within the confines of -0.1. This is clearly not the case. I need a TRUE brick wall limiter. .. . (?) Or instructions as to why the limiter is not 'limiting'.

Any ideas??