Combo Remapper - use score text and symbols to switch articulations
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apogee Duet (firewire) and Mavericks

Discussion in 'Mac OS' started by rainguitar, Apr 2, 2014.

1. rainguitar

rainguitar Member

Hi there. This is a bit off topic for this forum but since I know a lot of you use Apogee products I thought I'd ask. I have an older firewire version of the Apogee duet that I've been using for about 5 years. I like it so much that I made sure I bought a MacBook pro that still had a firewire port. All went well until I upgraded to Mavericks. I downloaded the new Mavericks drivers for the Firewire duet. Logic 9 works fine, however iTunes does not, particularly movie and TV show playback, though music seems fine. Pops and crackles everywhere on video playback unless I unplug the duet and just go through my computer's speakers. Then the pops and crackles disappear. The movie and shows also work fine through Apple TV. The stuff is on an external HD. I've been talking to Apogee support about this and they're as baffled as I am. Anyone have any ideas what this might be?

3. McLight

McLight New Member

Very similar situation over here: have been using Duet FW since 2008 - love it's sound and simplicity - but since 10.9.x I get this stuttering sound quite often when watching videos together with Duet (no problems when watching them without Duet). Have you found a solution by now?

In addition - since upgrading to 10.9.4 - my Mac keeps loosing the FW connection to the Duet about once an hour ... which is really annoying. I have to restart and then it works for another hour. I've contacted support and wait for their answer. I've read that this "disappearing" of Duet has been an issue with Lion - but I had no problems back then and didn't have any until 10.9.4. Do you have this problem too?

4. rainguitar

rainguitar Member