1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apple draws ire from the Pro Video world...

Discussion in 'The LUG Lounge' started by charlie, Jun 29, 2011.

1. charlie

charlie Senior member

This is more about Apple than has anything (directly) related to Logic Pro.

I have never seen my industry so vitriolic...
    (I am a senior television editor in NYC by profession.)
    Apple has shafted their client base by removing Final Cut Pro and replacing it with a severely limited new program called FCPX.
    All traces of the legacy FCP7 vanished from their website and users were left scratching their heads.
    What I am saying is not opinion, it is happening right now and professionals all over are looking long & hard at their FCP suits and projects and coming to term with the fact that Apple has cut out all of the FCP legacy from their users.
    You can NOT create an OMF or an AAF for audio mixers anymore. You can NOT make an EDL for another platform to conform media to. XML is out the window too, I'm afraid. These are professional standards that Apple has just done away with here. This is huge.
    Hell, even Conan O'brian actually did a piece on his show on how his Editorial staff hated FCPX... Then article after article, blog after blog, professionals made themselves heard: How could Apple remove the majority of tools from your flagship editing program and change everything about it with no warning?
    You cannot even open an older version of a Final Cut project in this new version!
    That's just sheer balls, Apple. Talk about alienating your user-base.
    And let me be clear that I'm not talking about the scruffy kid who works in a coffee-shop by day and "edits" his self-made movie by night. I am talking about professionals who get paid to work creatively and deliver by a deadline.