Logic Pro 9 Change channel strip presets, but keep the same instrument??

sygboe

Hello i'm relatively new to logic and still trying to get my head around certain things. some things work great and others i just don't understand the logic.

its great how you can whizz through all the different channel strip settings to audition all the sound combinations.
say i decide on a certain synth or sampler, but then want to carry on changing the different insert and eq presets, i only seem to have to option to totally change the whole strip including the instrument.

is there a way of doing this?
say i have a chopped break in esx24 playing. i just want to audition lots of pre saved inserts settings over the same instrument.

any help appreciated:brkwl::)

A preset is a particular combination of effects and instrument. So the answer is no, you cannot change only a part of a preset. But you can save your own channelstrip presets with any effects and instruments you like.

Upvote 0
To my opinion there are at least two workaround methods...

Method 1

Keep your Instrument channel loaded with the given instrument and set the channel strip output to any Bus (Aux) instead of "Stereo Output" etc.
Move (hold Option key) and drag the FX plugins onto the Aux channel. Save the CS preset of the Aux channel. Use to save presets as Aux CS ones, so you can change the CS presets any time without affecting the Instrument cause it is loaded on other channel.

Method 2

It is a bit complicated - I have invented this trick some time ago and gave it a name "A.I - A.T cross FX chain Tip"

Open the Finder and browse to:

/Users/useraccount/Library/Application Support/Logic/Channel Strip Settings

1. Select the Track folder (Fig.1) below, click it (hold your mouse click down), hold Option + Command computer keys and drag the Track folder onto the Instrument folder to create an Alias folder. Open the Instrument folder to check up if there is an alias folder of the "Track" folder (Fig.2).