Logic Pro 9 Cleaning Vocal of Breaths

ekalavyadas

Logician
Hi. Newbie here.

I worked on a song project in my home studio in logic and then brought it to a pro studio for mixing.

We spent a substantial amount of time "cleaning the vocals". Mostly selecting the space between singing and deleting. Especially, the breaths.

It took a long time.

Any tips for speeding up / improving this process?

I searched "breaths" on the forum and found some good tips, but I'm hoping for more.

Thanks.

-- eka

The first thing to consider is why you would need to remove every breath sound. Its common to delete maybe a few breaths that sound intrusive but unusual to go through an entire performance and remove every one. Some breathing sounds in a performance are often considered desirable, they add intimacy and are part of the natural character and expression of the vocal. Taking them all out can make things sound very clinical.

However, if those vocal breaths are somehow objectionable then perhaps there is something in your vocal technique you could improve.Give some thought to where you are breathing in each phrase. There will be natural points to take a deep breath and places where there is only time to take a quick, shallow breath. When you breathe, remember you are singing - not running a marathon. Try to inhale more slowly making less sound. Also, experiment with singing across the mike at different angles and make sure you use a good pop filter.

Upvote 0
Waves makes a plug-in that can really help this stuff: Debreath. I have used it to decrease breaths in music and voiceovers in the past. It is a great tool, and can be figured out pretty quickly.

There is a 2 week demo, I suggest you might want to download it an see if it can do what you want.

Upvote 0
Thanks George, I'll try Debreath by Waves.

Thanks Michael, I'll try to be more conscious of my breathing techniques.

Thanks for your help.

-- eka

Upvote 0