Sample Aid
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Considering buying LP X but Concerned About Bugs

Discussion in 'Logic Pro X' started by b-rob, Jul 29, 2014.

1. b-rob

b-rob New Member

Hi,

I'm new to the this group and working with DAWs. I'm currently recording on a Zoom R24, pushing tracks to my iMac (OS X 10.9.2), and using Audacity to mix and do some basic processing. Logic looks great and I want to start learning a full-featured DAW, but I've seen a number of threads about LP X being buggy to the point that I'm not sure whether to go ahead and jump in now or wait until it's more stable. I have a couple of questions for the list ...

- Does anyone know if the latest release of Logic Pro X supports using a Zoom R24 as a controller? I know Logic does overall but saw a thread somewhere that said it's not working with the latest release.

- My main concern whether the version shipping now is stable enough to learn the basics without struggling with a lot of crashes or basic functions not working properly. I can't tell from what I've read how disruptive the bugs are, and would appreciate hearing some informed opinions on it.

Thanks for your help!

3. CSeye

CSeye Senior member

4. Atlas

Atlas Senior member

Check with Zoom support. Most if the time you will find posts about problems, not much about satisfied customer, which could give a bad impression. Often issues are due to trivial causes like obsolete driver use, improper settings, etc...
    After browsing the web, I found different links where it is explained how to use the R24 with Logic Pro X either as a sound card or MIDI controller.