1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logic 9 Custom drum maps? Altering drum samples?

Discussion in 'Logic 9' started by schlimmster, Mar 14, 2012.

1. schlimmster

schlimmster New Member

I'm new to Logic, so please be gentle. ;-)

Logic comes with some great drum and percussion sounds, but I'd like to create my own customized drum maps across my Akai MPK88 controller. I'd like to choose where various samples are located on the keyboard, tune the drums, etc.

I used to be able to do this on my ancient Cakewalk system back in the 90s, so I'm guessing it should be possible with my brand new Mac-based Logic rig. I had a very knowledgeable friend come by for a consult and he couldn't figure out how to do it.

Can anyone provide some very specific suggestions or links that would help?

Thanks very much in advance.

Al

3. Eli

Eli Senior member

Sounds like what you are looking for are the "Mapped Instruments" in the Environment. They allow for per note mapping of note number, MIDI channel, cable, etc. Check it out in the manual and see if it is what you are looking for.

Also, you need to ask yourself what software instruments(s) you will be using for the drum sounds. If they are EXS 24 instruments for example, you can bypass using the Mapped Instruments, and just set the EXS 24 instruments with the samples mapped as you want them. OTOH, if you have a bunch of EXS 24 instruments with the same mappings that need to be altered, use a Mapped Instrument and just do the work once.

4. schlimmster

schlimmster New Member