1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help for a very beginner

Discussion in 'Studio Techniques' started by Josantos, Mar 10, 2013.

1. Josantos

Josantos New Member

Hi there! I'm a professional classical musician that's trying to create a project about "sort of new age music..." My idea is to get ALL the necessary equipment for doing so. I'm still a pc user and all I have is the musical ideas. For the rest, I'm completely lost... I have heard about Logic and I think it could be the better option for making my creative ideas come real. Would anyone give me some advice to begin? The first this I have to do is getting a Mac, but, wich one? Mixing tables? Microphones?? Any books to read as a starting guide? Please help! Bassically, I would like to record a group of about 5-6 musicians (2 violins, viola, cello, bass, percussion, woodwinds...) and add some "atmospheric" sounds (virtual instruments and midis??).

Thanks a lot!

Josantos

3. Pete Thomas

Pete Thomas Administrator Staff Member

First of all, welcome to the forum. I moved your post to the correct section.

Congratulations on making the choice to consider Logic, and its inevitable requirement to jump over to the mac platform.

The thing that jumps out at me form your list is "mixing tables". Yopu don't need one any more, as a mixer in the traditional sens of a piece of external equipment includes mostly functions which are done in the software these days, ie mixing.

What the traditional mixer does include tha the software cannot, is the necessary microphone preamp which amplifies a microphone.

So aort from microphones obviously and a computer, the big thing to think about is what we cal an interface to get one into the other.

Most basic 9and pro level)interfacses do two things: