1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logic Studio apps Korg nanoKontrol 2 & Main Stage

Discussion in 'MainStage' started by xrc, Mar 6, 2012.

1. xrc

xrc Member

I took the advice of some of you and picked up a Korg NanoKontrol2 controller. Basically, I can use it. But, I end up getting things messed up. I guess I'm NOT a midi expert and get somewhat confused. The DX7s connection is fine. One problem I had was I had four knobs. 3 could be assigned. But, the 4th one couldn't no matter what I did. Although it was Blue when selected, the knob showed no movement.
    Another strange thing happened is I had a few software instruments say 3 or 4 in channel strips. But, there was only one layer shown on the keyboard.
    Other problems arise when I'm assigning a slider or knob and it controls two channel strips at once. Ah well, I'm pretty new at this. And can anyone give me some basic set-up rules that I should beware of? thanks
  3. Doug Zangar

Doug Zangar Senior member

I have the NanoKontrol vs1, so I'm somewhat familiar with the unit. As I understand it, there should be a driver and editing software for this version. Make sure you have both installed - you for sure need the driver, may need the editing software.

On to MainStage. The premise here is you use Layout mode to map screen control objects to hardware. With MainStage open and the NanoKontrol connected, wiggle the knobs, sliders, etc and look at the MIDI activity window. Each control MUST have a unique MIDI CC number (first number is MIDI channel, second is CC). If there are any duplicates of CC numbers those controls will control the SAME function as MS uses the CC number for mapping

I've been told you can assign the CC numbers of each control with the editing software. Basically you want a generic MIDI mapping - there may be a template for such.