Sample Aid
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logic 8 Logic and iMovie audio?

Discussion in 'Logic 8' started by pfloyd714714, Aug 25, 2010.

1. pfloyd714714

pfloyd714714 Senior member

I'm a teacher and wish to make a film for my students. The audio functionality in iMovie 09 is atrocious. In David Pogue's "iMovie '09" manual, he suggests using GarageBand for audio editing. I don't know squat about GarageBand, but I've used Logic for a few years (since version 6). I've never used it to work with video, however.

I gather from the Logic reference manual that if I import the edited movie from iMovie, I can also import the audio from that footage. From there I can add narration, music, sound effects, etc. on separate tracks.

My question, though, is what do I do after all sound editing, and the film itself, is finished? GarageBand has options including "Export to Disk" which creates a QuickTime movie file. It also includes a "Share" menu for sending the movie to iDVD, which is what I'll want to do. Does Logic have a similarly simple function? This isn't Hollywood--it's a middle school history class. (Sorry for any glazed eyes and shores that mental image may have caused.)

3. zerobeat

zerobeat Senior member

I bounce the audio to a WAV file, and then use QuickTime Player to marry the audio with the video. But Apple has recently removed that feature from QuickTime, so I have to stick with Quicktime 7.x. Note that you need QuickTime Pro (which comes with Logic Studio 8 or 9 anyway) to do this. Just make sure the bounce starts at the same timepoint as the movie file.

Logic 9 has a feature that allows to bounce the audio directly into the movie, but I've never used it (since I had been doing it the other way for about 12 years).
  4. georgelegeriii

georgelegeriii Senior member