1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logic Pro X + Roland GI-20 = No Midi Guitar ???

Discussion in 'Logic Pro X' started by wonderingabout, Jun 11, 2015.

1. wonderingabout

wonderingabout New Member

Hi,

I'm new to this group and pretty new to Logic X (mostly Pro Tools).

I don't know how to get Logic X to recognize a Roland GK Midi Interface:
    Roland GI-20.

It is a 13-pin midi to USB converter for midi guitar.

The issue may be specific to the GI-20 more than Logic X but I am approaching from both ends to try and solve this as quickly as possible.

Setup:
    Godin Freeway 13 Pin Midi Guitar
    Roland GI-20 13-Pin midi to USB Interface
    Macbook Pro 8,3
    Mac OS 10.10
    Logic Pro X 10.1.1

As initially stated -
    I am more familiar with Pro Tools -
    I am pretty new to Logic Pro X.

I used to just plug and play with this setup in Pro Tools with stock settings to get basic ideas out.

Haven't used the Godin / Roland GI-20 in a while.
    Now when I plug it in to my Macbook Pro via USB
    it does not recognize any midi data coming in.

I have a USB keyboard controller (AKAI LPK 25)
    and the virtual instruments in Logic X respond to that perfectly.

The guitar midi signal is definitely getting from the guitar to the GI-20 - because I can change patches with the toggle switch on the guitar.

Any idea what could be stopping the Gi-20 from talking to Logic X?

Any leads would be appreciated.

Thank you very much.

3. Markdvc

Markdvc Administrator Staff Member

Hi there, welcome to the LUG.