1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logic 9 Manipulating & handling original source files??

Discussion in 'Logic 9' started by satellite maps, Dec 20, 2011.

1. satellite maps

satellite maps New Member

Hello good folks of LUG,

This is my first post as I'm brand new to Logic Express 9, but have worked with other DAW's quite a bit in the past (Sonor, Wavelab).

I encountered an unfortunate and fateful discovery with how Logic Express handles files which i have never encountered with any other DAW. I brought in a file that was 110 BPM and slowed the tempo down to 95BPM and to my shock and horror it changed the original source file as well and I was not able to convert it back. After reading and watching some youtube tutorials i learned you must convert the file once you've imported it into the timeline (or inspector). Once again i've never heard of this with other DAW's. Is there any way around this or is it necessary to basically save a copy with another name to retain the integrity of the original file.

thanks in advance
  3. georgelegeriii

georgelegeriii Senior member

Uh, how exactly did you slow it down?

I have used Logic for about 18 years now, and can't think of any time I have seen an original file get messed up unless someone edited in the sample editor, and there is a very clear warning that this will happen when done there.

That said, always make sure Logic copies any external audio files when imported into the audio bin (check your settings for this)
  4. Pete Thomas

Pete Thomas Administrator Staff Member

I don't understand this either. Logic will alter the playback tempo of some files, e.g. Apple Loops or some other other files (e.g. from Acid), but not a normal wav or aif file.

If you record the file in Logic and tick the "follow tempo box" then it will also change the playback tempo of the file. (I'm not sure about Express in this regard though).