1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logic X merging logicx files after each other

Discussion in 'Logic Pro X' started by Michael Strand, Dec 1, 2015.

1. Michael Strand

Michael Strand New Member

I am new to Logic Pro X, fiddled a bit with Logic 4, and have started to work again on a composition which is 34 minutes long and has 19 verses. Years ago I split the verses up into individual files (which now are .logicx files), because back then it seemed easier to work on them individually with instrumentation, transitions etc.
    Now my problem is that I cannot put (merge, combine, unite, join) these files (any two files) into one. All files have the same setup of tracks and so far there are only MIDI tracks in the files.

I have googled unsuccessfully and have tried to find a way to put a second file after a first - just like you can do in a program like Word - with all tracks at the end of the first and preferrably including tempo changes, but I did not succeed.

Does anybody know how to do this and can help me with step by step instructions?

3. angelonyc

angelonyc New Member

Does Logic 10 open Logic 4 files (not sure)... Shut off audio engine (makes process faster).. Open both projects. Highlight midi tracks as a whole in Logic 4, and drag to the proper spot in Logic 10.. Use (existing tracks)..

You could also try to highlight all Midi tracks in Logic 4 export (give it a good name to keep track). Try one or two songs first to see if it works. Close Logic 4 open Logic 10, drag midi files to proper spot in Logic 10.. Drag to top track you want to use.. Select 'Use existing track (as long as they are the same midi channel #'s)

Logic 4 ran on a PPC Mac machine.. If Logic 10 doesn't open Logic 4 files, you will an old Mac (pre-Intel) and Logic 4 to run and export midi files..

4. Michael Strand