Sample Aid
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logic X Monitoring Vocals

Discussion in 'Logic Pro X' started by Svend, Oct 14, 2016.

1. Svend

Svend New Member

Greetings! I am a Logic Newbie, but have used Garageband for many years. Here is my question.

I have a Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 Audio interface. (18 inputs, 20 outputs)

I have a logic project and I added a new AUDIO track to record vocals coming from a TC HELICON vocal processor which outputs a stereo output.

I have a set of headphones plugged into the Scarlett 18i20

My issue is that when I sing in the mic, I seem to get a straight vocal sound instead of the wacky sounding TC HELICON vocal processor PATCH I dial up.

When I play back the record track... it does have the sound I wanted from the TC HELICON vocal processor!

I want to be able to hear the TC HELICON vocal processor effect as I sing, so it is giving me realtime feedback as I sing.

I can't really understand why I am getting a "clean sound" when a very modified signal is coming out the TC HELICON vocal processor!

any ideas?? I hope I explained my issue clearly!

3. Peter Ostry

Peter Ostry Administrator Staff Member

I think this is the standard routing in the Scarlett. Normally people don't want a processed sound but rather the dry signal for monitoring. One reason for that is, that you may get a long delay (= latency) when you monitor through the computer and the DAW with plugins.

The Scarlett has a built-in mixer, right? Here you should be able to route the channel(s) you want to the headphone outputs.
  4. volovicg

volovicg Senior member

Yes Peter is correct. First let's make sure the initial assumptions are correct as well...
    1/ In Logic (preferences-Audio) you have the Audio Interface inputs / outputs set to be the Scarlett - correct ?
    2/ you have software monitoring turned on - correct?