Sample Aid
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logic 9 Need help with assigning midi channels to vienna ensemble pro

Discussion in 'Logic 9' started by AllisonB, Dec 5, 2010.

1. AllisonB

AllisonB New Member

Hi I am using Logic 9 via Vienna Ensemble Pro with 2 slave PC computers hosting all my vstis. I want to use this for film scoring with large orchestral templates. (I am a former Cubase user and this set works great)

So far I have everything working well. As I am new to Logic, I am a little stuck on automation. Most of my vsti's are either CC11 or CC 7 controllable so I'd like to be able to control and edit that in the same lane as the midi data.

My main problem is, I want to be able to control the volume automation on each of my 1-16 midi channels per instrument track separately. But when I click on the volume / vienna ensemble, there are 64 volume channels to choose from. So I can't figure out which ones go with which midi channes. Channel 1 turns the automation orange and controls midi channel 1 fine, but I need to do the same thing for channels 1-15 (for each multi channel instrument)

thanks for the help! :hippy:

3. AllisonB

AllisonB New Member

hmmm still not working.. strange. I can change channel volume but not the separate midi (1-16) within each channel. Any tips would be great thanks!

4. cyril

cyril Member

you must use CC 11 to control the volume of each midi channels

the best thing is to make a transformer that will convert CC7 to CC11

5. AllisonB

AllisonB New Member

Thank you so much. Could you please point me in the direction of a tutorial to do this? I would rather not have to edit cc data in hyper window as I prefer to actually see the data I'm editing to. I also heard its possible to use the track pan - and convert it to control CC data which would be much preferable to me as my orchestral instruments are already pre panned anyway. Thanks so much!