1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pattern switching techniques

Discussion in 'Studio Techniques' started by Scott Mckinley, Nov 26, 2013.

1. Scott Mckinley

Scott Mckinley New Member

Hello guys

I was recently working with a friend in Ableton 9.I was blown away by the way you can make sections of your track and then flick seamlessly through them and record an arrangement on the fly. I have been struggling recently with the arrangement of my tracks and this has opened my eyes.We were able to jam away and create really spontaneous random arrangements that I really liked. This way of working for me is incredibly exciting but I am in love with Logic.I have been using Logic for a few years now and I'm really comfortable with it.I don't want to jump ship so to speak.Is there any software or dedicated hardware for Logic like the Apc40 for Ableton that I could use to get this desired effect? I want to create sections of my tracks and just jamm away jumping from one to another whilst messing with an array of effects as well.This is the missing link in my work flow.Please can you give me some advice,it would be greatly appreciated.

3. Eli

Eli Senior member

Hi Scott,

I'm afraid there's no single magic answer to your question. Abelton Live is a completely different app, built on a completely different workflow paradigm. Logic simply doesn't do the same things.

Having said that, there are a couple of things in Logic you could try that might push you in the direction you are looking for.