1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logic 9 Quick Question on setting song length

Discussion in 'Logic 9' started by Ministrel, Feb 24, 2011.

1. Ministrel

Ministrel New Member

I'm new to Logic & trying to export a mixdown.How/where do I set the song length.I am getting 2mins of silence added after the song & wish to delete the unwanted space before I export.waiting for your reply to proceed.
    Thank you.

3. Eli

Eli Senior member

In the bounce dialogue box there are clearly indicated start and end fields where you can set the precise start and end times in bars, beats, divisions, and ticks.

Alternately, you can set a cycle range in the bar ruler. Then the bounce dialogue box will automatically adopt the start and end fields to this range.

4. sonnykeyes

sonnykeyes Senior member

I have not found this to be true unless you select "Cycle" as well. For a long time I was accidentally bouncing my songs with an inexplicable piece missing from the beginning because of the strange default setting in the bounce dialogue.

5. Ken Adams

Ken Adams Member

A fast method I use is to select all the regions in my mix then hit the "Set Locators" button in the top toolbar. That often gives me at least coarse in and out points that I can adjust easily. That does pop you into cycle mode. Then when you Bounce, the locator points are set. No guessing...

Hope that helps.

6. Eli

Eli Senior member

Hi Sonny,

Yes, of course you are right. I didn't word my reply properly. I meant that you should actually engage cycle as well. I seem to remember in earlier versions that it wasn't necessary to actually have the cycle mode enabled.

And Ken - yeah, I do the same thing. I select all, and use set by locators, and then turn on cycle, My fingers have the commands memorized :) I usually preface the key command sequence with Z so that the entire arrangement is resized to fit into the window.

7. Doug Zangar