Combo Remapper - use score text and symbols to switch articulations
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logic 8 Score - notation

Discussion in 'Logic 8' started by jmahoney, Mar 17, 2009.

1. jmahoney

jmahoney New Member

I'm relatively new to Logic but it doesn't seem that entering music or editing is very intuitive. I know that there is a lot of ground to cover here, but is there a good resource for getting started? I have used Finale fairly extensively but I don't like the Garritan sounds compared with the Logic sound library. At this point I am entering data into Finale, saving as a midi file and importing into Logic. Not a very elegant approach.

I look forward to learning a lot about Logic from the Users Group. I look forward to when I might know enough to make a contribution,

Thanks, John

3. grooveiron

grooveiron Member

Forget about notation in Logic if you know Finale.
    I recommend sending your Finale MIDI through virtual ports straight into Logic. You need to be somewhat conversant with the Environment, and I don't have time to go through that with you now, but once it's set up it works very well.

4. jmahoney

jmahoney New Member

virtual porting to Logic

John,

Thanks for the suggestion, I'll definitely look into it.

Best,

John

5. David51

David51 Senior member

6. jmahoney

jmahoney New Member

LNG

Thanks David,

I think your advice is good, I'll stick with Finale for creating scores. However, I do like playing live into Logic and still being able to see the music on the SCORE. I'm making some modest progress.

Thanks again, John

7. Jay Asher

Jay Asher Senior member

Although some of it is dated terminology, etc. this is till the Bible.
    http://prischl.net/LNG/index.html

Alternatively, hire a guy like me to teach you.

8. Pete Thomas

Pete Thomas Administrator Staff Member