1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logic 9 Switch from Cubase to Logic Express?

Discussion in 'Logic 9' started by starless, May 1, 2011.

1. starless

starless New Member

I'm looking for some advice from other people, especially ones who, despite being Logic users, happen to have some knowledge of other applications.

I'm currently a hobbyist regarding music production.
    I mostly play keyboards, and I like to play around with virtual instruments (VSTi), creating small recordings, also adding some audio tracks sometimes (voice, guitar, external synths).

During the years, I always kept using the entry level version of Cubase, first on Windows, then on Mac since some years. The latest I own is Cubase Essential 4, which I should now probably upgrade to Cubase Artist 6 for a price of 100 euros (seems like an upgrade to the upcoming cheaper Cubase Elements 6 will not be possible).
    But... I actually used it so little in recent years (essentially didn't use it at all for 3 years, and used it superficially anyway in previous years), that I feel like I will need to learn it again from scratch.

So, here comes the question: maybe I should take the opportunity for a jump, if I can find a software which better suits me?

I already looked at Ableton Live in the past, but I've heard good things about Logic recently. My target would of course be Logic Express 9 (200 euros).

Is there anyone here who can compare it to an entry level Cubase?

As far as I can guess and understand, these are some advantages I see in the two choices:

Logic Express 9:
    • More complete builtin plugins
    • More OSX-friendly
    • No hardware key (I hate it!)

Cubase Artist 6:
    • Official VST host implementation, maximum external plugin compatibility (I think in the past I encountered some plugin which was not available in both VST and AU formats... I'm talking about free plugins and special cover-CD editions)