Logic Pro 9 Transferring FL Studio Knowledge to Logic Studio

MrHallzzz

Alright, I've been using FL Studio for the last 4 to 5 years (FL 7-9) and can pretty much grasp the aspects of creating music through their software (great software). I've recently bought a Macbook Pro, and while I'm alright with "Bootcamping" Windows 7 whenever I need to create music... I feel it's time to upgrade to something greater.

I've recently talked to a few of my peers and they enjoy Logic Studio for Mac. Checked out the Apple site and it's definitely something I can sink my fingers into... but I need a little input on a few things before I shell out 500 dollars or so.

1) Since creating my first instrumental in FL, I've used Cubase and Sony's Acid (vocal purposes) with so-so results. I've also used Garageband and enjoy it, but there are a lot of things with it I still don't understand at the moment. Question being... is it possible to transfer .flp files through Logic or would I have to save/convert them into wav, mp3, ogg, zip, or mid?

2) Taking you back to the first question per se... when it comes to each instrument within FL, I'm top-notch... but as I've seen within Garageband/Cubase/Acid that they're mostly loops... which I don't use unless necessary. FL has more of a grid-based look to it which I can click on for each pattern (along with setting the "beats per bar for this pattern"), to construct a delicious composition. I also use the playlist (constructed of blocks) to develop the song. That being said... when it comes placing each piece were I want it, would it remain the way Garageband currently is (from what I have used) or is it possible to do the same on LS?

Thank you in advance, and make great music!

Alan "Age" Hall
http://www.hallzzz.com

Answer to your first question is save/convert them into wav, mp3, and/or mid.